[from Annys S.]
Has anyone else in Petworth received a letter from Mary Holder asking to buy your house? I did. I am curious to know who else has, if anyone has contacted her and if so, what she said. I am asking both as a resident and as a reporter for a local news outlet. Far as I can tell from some quick research such a person exists.
Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
Beware, this is a big scam. They do not sell or rent your homes. They are the worst at scamming unsuspecting homeowners who are trying to stay in their homes without foreclosing. Pronto Homes claims to pay your mortgage until your home is either sold or rented...they don't. They promise to keep in contact with your lender, explaining they are there to help....they don't. Mary Holder never returns phone calls, messages, or emails. They even post your home on their website without your permisison. Making it seem that they have such a large supply. They don't. If you are ever approached by this person......RUN! Run as fast as you can.
Posted by: Kay | October 20, 2009 at 02:22 PM
Yes, my husband and I got a letter today and want to know what she has to say, but we read your blog first (Thank YOU!) so we are not expecting much but a bottom feeder in the real estate cess pool. But what the heck, she can talk and I will listen and try to report back. We live in Crestwood. Thanks Metbloggers for the quick reference info on Mary H and her husband.
Posted by: Nancy Metzger | July 01, 2008 at 11:56 AM
Was her husband Richard Holder? Anyone who responds will probably be told of his tales of woe . . .
Posted by: OMG | June 29, 2008 at 10:57 PM
Fox5 did a follow up on this story - with a section of video in Petworth!
http://tinyurl.com/5bph2g
Posted by: Wayan | June 20, 2008 at 05:51 PM
My husband got one of these this past weekend. We live in Cleveland Park. The envelope is handwritten. We previously lived in a house where people did leave handwritten notes about wanting to buy it so the note didn't seem weird except for the large "$BUY$". I replied with an email that they could make me an offer. Anyone know how this scam works?
Posted by: Cath D. | May 12, 2008 at 10:05 PM
I have received 2 letters. One from this Mary person and one from another person. Both were produced in a font that made them look like they were hand written. We aren't interested in selling either.
Posted by: Ed2 | May 12, 2008 at 01:47 PM
We're technically a few blocks north of Petworth, but also received the same note last week.
Posted by: RWC | May 09, 2008 at 05:06 PM
As the author of the Metblogs post, I can confirm that its a form letter from a most decidedly shady inquirer. I would give it about as much validity as those Nigerians who keep offering me millions of dollars.
Posted by: Wayan | May 08, 2008 at 11:27 PM
Yes, we got one too -- it's a form letter. We actually checked the ink -- most of the letter was mass printed and the address was written in. I'm sure it's just a firm that tries to buy houses on the cheap. Hell of an effort to put into a mass mailing, but easily worth it if it gets them just one extra house.
Posted by: jb | May 08, 2008 at 03:39 PM
You can find a post on it at DC metblogs. Not much info but perhaps you could contact the author.
here is the link:
http://dc.metblogs.com/2008/05/06/mary-holder-wants-to-buy-my-house/
Posted by: Tmoney | May 08, 2008 at 01:22 PM
We got a letter from her as well earlier this week. We also have no interest in selling and have no intention of responding. If indeed it really is a woman and her husband who hope to move to Petworth then best of luck to them.
Posted by: Ed | May 08, 2008 at 01:09 PM
Yes. I received a letter from Mary last Friday. It was weird, and I have not responded to it. My wife and I are not interested in selling, so I don't think I will respond. I have been wondering about this since it arrived - whether it was a scam?; why our house?; where did she get my name? etc... Strange.
Posted by: Brian S. | May 08, 2008 at 12:35 PM